Contract - January/February 2010 - (Page 59)

interiors awards the 31st annual interiors awards presented by Contract In our 50th year of publication, Contract proudly presents its 2010 awards issue, including the prestigious Designer of the Year Award, the 2010 Legend Award, and the winners of the 31st Annual Interiors Awards Competition. The editors wish to extend our congratulations to the five partners of Graft (—Gregor Hoheisel, Lars Krückeberg, Wolfram Putz, Thomas Willemeit, and Alejandra Lillo—who are being honored as our 2010 Designers of the Year. In its young existence, Graft has already established itself as a model for design practice that transcends boundaries of all kinds, be they geographic, disciplinary, or social. Congratulations are also in order for Art Gensler, our 2010 Legend Awards recipient, who founded Gensler ( and can rightly be considered the father of commercial interior design as a serious business profession. Our 15 category winners of the annual Interiors Awards Competition—Cannon Design, Cerquiglini & Rossi Architecture, Clive Wilkinson Architects, Dake Wells Architecture, Eskew+Dumez+Ripple, Gensler, Giorgio Borruso Design, Hartman Design Group, Janson Goldstein, Jestico + Whiles, ikon.5 architects, Munge Leung Design Associates, Slade Architecture, Stantec Architecture, will bruder+PARTNERS—also deserve high praise for their work, highlighted in the following pages. As usual, these 15 firms represent a broad spectrum of experience, expertise, and geographic origins, proving once again that design excellence need not be confined to any particular location, building type, or budget. Finally, sincere thanks to our five esteemed judges, who served on the Interiors Awards jury this year. Pictured from left to right are: Lionel Ohayon, ICRAVE Robin Guenther, Perkins+Will John Peterson, Public Architecture Joey Shimoda, Shimoda Design Group Lois Goodell, CBT Architects contract january/february 2010 59

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of Contract - January/February 2010

Contract - January/February 2010
Not Just for Specifiers
Designers of the Year
Legend Award
The 31st Annual Interiors Awards
Large Office
Small Office
Public Space
Adaptive Reuse
Environmental Design
Designers Rate: Ergonomic Seating
Less is More
Ad Index

Contract - January/February 2010