Contract - January/February 2011 - (Page 29)

interiors awards interiors awards Contract proudly presents its 2011 awards issue, including the prestigious Designer of the Year Award, the 2011 Legend Award, and the winners of the 32nd Annual Interiors Awards Competition. The editors wish to extend our congratulations to Primo Orpilla and Verda Alexander of studio o+a, who are being honored as our 2011 Designers of the Year. In the 20 years since they founded their San Francisco-based practice, Orpilla and Alexander have ridden successfully the high-tech bubble through boom and bust with a small, agile design firm that is as comfortable serving the needs of giants like Facebook and AOL as it is serving entrepreneurial startups (with minimal budgets) that are hoping to yield a future Time “Person of the Year.” Through their tight associations with the geek crowd and its fast-changing world, Orpilla and Alexander have become atypically astute about present and future workplace issues and have come to understand and employ technology in every phase of design practice, giving us a glimpse into the processes that are influencing the new generation of designers. Congratulations also to Eva Maddox, Contract’s 2011 Legend Award recipient, who is credited with pioneering the now familiar concept of branding in interior environments, as she built her Chicago-based eponymous design firm into a successful and highly regarded creative practice that caught the attention of (and was acquired by) Perkins+Will in 2002. Eva Maddox Branded Environments has been one of the most honored Interiors Awards winners in the competition’s 32-year-history, but this tells only part of the story of her stellar career. From her founding, with architect Stanley Tigerman, of the alternative design graduate school Archeworks, which places an emphasis on social justice, to her legendary poise and grace, Maddox’s influence on the practice of commercial design and on a generation of up-and-coming designers is celebrated here. Our 14 category winners of the 32nd annual Interiors Awards Competition—Atlas Architecture, The Bommarito Group, Centerbrook Architects, Clive Wilkinson Architects, Clodagh Design, Giorgio Borruso Design, IwamotoScott Architecture, KMS TEAM, Kris Lin Interior Design, STUDIOS Architecture, Triz Arte, ZGF Architects, and student designers Jamie Morin and Kyung-Eun Kim from Iowa State University—also deserve high praise for their work, which is highlighted in this issue. As usual, these 14 award-winning projects demonstrate a broad spectrum of experience, expertise, and geographic origins, as the competition continues to grow in global scope and influence. Good design is truly a universal language. Finally, thank you to our esteemed judges, who served on the Interiors Awards jury this year (above, from left to right): Dirk Denison, Dirk Denison Architects Marlon Blackwell, Marlon Blackwell Architect Lars Krüeckeberg, Graft Kimberly Sacramone, HLW International Randy Brown, Randy Brown Architects the 32nd annual contract january/february 2011 29

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of Contract - January/February 2011

Contract - January/February 2011
Editor’s Note
Exhibition: Orgatec
Corporate Philanthropy
The 32nd Annual Interiors Awards
Designers of the Year
Legend Award
Large Office
Public Space
Historic Restoration
Adaptive Reuse
Environmental Design
Designers Rate
Ad Index

Contract - January/February 2011