Contract - March 2013 - (Page 16)

Contract Celebrates Its 34th Annual Interiors Awards photography: christian grattan industry news 1 2 Legend Michael graves with Contract editor in chief John czarnecki (1). Contract publisher John rouse with designer of the year Joey shimoda (2). czarnecki with 2011 designers of the year Verda alexander and primo orpilla of studio o+a (3). Karen daroff, president and design principal of daroff design + ddi architects, with Knoll senior Vice president of communications david Bright (4). Julio Braga, design principal at ia interior architects in new york, with 2006 designer of the year Mark harbick, design principal at nBBJ (5). 16 3 More than 600 design industry professionals helped Contract magazine celebrate design at its 34th Annual Interiors Awards, held on January 25 at Cipriani 42nd Street in New York. Editor in Chief John Czarnecki presided over the event, presenting awards to projects in 13 categories, as well as the Designer of the Year and Legend Awards. Shimoda Design Group founder Joey Shimoda was named the 2013 Designer of the Year, having quietly made big impacts through design—from interiors for Steelcase and a Hollywood producer to offices for TOMS Shoes. “My selection as Designer of the Year is absolutely gratifying,” Shimoda comments. “The process of making meaningful and beautiful spaces is a fragile and precarious journey. By receiving this honor, I am fortified in believing that all of our effort inspires excellence in design.” For the first time in the magazine’s history, the Legend Award was presented to a previous Designer of the Year—Michael Graves, FAIA 4 5 (1981 Designer of the Year). This highest honor for lifetime achievement was bestowed on Graves, who drew a standing ovation at the breakfast for his influential architecture, consumer and contract products, and his work in rethinking healthcare design. The Interiors Awards portion highlighted design work around the world, much of which incorporated innovation and creativity in existing spaces. “Many of the winning projects, in various categories, are actually transformations of existing interiors, and that’s exciting because it demonstrates the profession’s work in designing interiors has a real impact,” says Czarnecki. The category winners were selected by a jury composed of Stephen Apking, SOM; Dina Griffin, Interactive Design, Inc.; Nancy Keatinge, Felderman Keatinge + Associates; Alan Ricks, MASS Design Group; and Margaret Sullivan, H3 Hardy Collaboration Architecture. Visit to view all winners. march 2013

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of Contract - March 2013

Contract - March 2013
Industry News
Columnist: Gaining Projects in the Education Market
Exhibition: Cevisama
Product Focus: On the Move
Product Briefs: Education
University of Toronto Rotman School of Management
Bangkok University Imagine Lounge
Lorain County Community College iLoft
Joan and Sanford I. Weill Hall, Sonoma State University
Forum Overview: Contract Design Forum Looks Toward the Future
Designers Select: Education Solutions
Ad Index

Contract - March 2013