Incentive - May 2009 - (Page 4)

MAY 2009 EDITOR’S NOTE Measure Twice, Cut Once t’s an adage that goes back to medieval times. Basically, it means: figure out what you’re doing and why you’re doing it, before embarking on any course of action. The world was a lot simpler back then. If in fact it’s been estimated that the Sunday edition of The New York Times contains more information than a person living in the Middle Ages would have processed in an entire lifetime. But I guarantee you this: 99.9 percent of that information can’t Editor In Chief Vincent Alonzo come anywhere near the value of, “Measure twice, cut once.” It was a rule of thumb that unfortunately many top executives were ignoring for much of the last quarter of 2008 and first quarter of this year as they hastily cancelled incentives and other events after seeing the press attacks on AIG, Wells Fargo, and Northern Trust in the Sunday Times and other print and electronic media outlets. On page 24 in this issue, we have an edited transcript of a roundtable Senior Editor Leo Jakobson conducted with five incentive house leaders who say that many of their clients are starting to come back to their senses and are regretting their knee-jerk reactions. They are realizing that you can’t just do away with motivating and engaging a workforce or a b-to-b business partner. That’s what our cover story on page 10 is about too. In it, Contributing Editor Andrea Doyle spoke to top executives at Goodyear Tire & Rubber, Microsoft, and CA Inc. about programs they forged ahead with at the height of the anti-incentive frenzy in the media. What did these three companies have in common? Two things: the vision to see the ramifications of disengaging from their employees and channel partners; and the courage to stand their ground against a tidal wave of condemnation and do what was right for their businesses. And their workers, their business partners, and the economy are better off because of it. Their stories are a blueprint for how to properly deal with the public’s misperception of motivation programs. If more companies followed their example, HR departments across this country probably would not be laying off employees in record numbers. That’s a job that no one wants to have right now. In addition to laying off employees, HR personnel have the unenviable task of keeping those left behind motivated. The June issue of Incentive will include an HR Guide to Incentives. Part of it will include a survey on the current state of employee recognition. If you are involved in organizing your organization’s recognition program, please take a moment to visit www.incentivemag.com and complete the survey. It will help us to help you to measure twice before you cut. www.incentivemag.com Editorial and Executive Offices 770 Broadway, New York, NY 10003-9595 (646) 654-4500, Fax (646) 654-7650 Vice President & Group Publisher Nella Veldran (646) 654-7325, nella.veldran@nielsen.com I EDITORIAL (646) 654-4500 Editor In Chief Vincent Alonzo (646) 654-7361, vince.alonzo@nielsen.com Senior Editor Leo Jakobson (646) 654-7642, ljakobson@nielsen.com Managing Editor Alex Palmer (646) 654-4435, alex.palmer@nielsen.com Contributing Editor Andrea Doyle (201) 225-2538, andrea.doyle@nielsen.com Online Editor Stacy Straczynski (646) 654-7336, stacy.straczynski@nielsen.com Special Projects Director Karen Gines (646) 654-7647, karen.gines@nielsen.com Research Director Nancy Lazarus (646) 654-7272, nancy.lazarus@nielsen.com ART Art Director Michael Strong (646) 654-7471, michael.strong@nielsen.com PRODUCTION Production Manager Anita Wise (646) 654-7298, anita.wise@nielsen.com CIRCULATION, SUBSCRIPTION & ADDRESS CHANGES (847) 763-9050, Fax (847) 763-9037, E-mail iv@halldata.com LIST RENTAL Postal info (845) 731-2731, E-mail info (845) 731-3854 REPRINTS Mike Shober (800) 290-5460 x129, incentive@theYGSgroup.com PERMISSIONS & LICENSING Barbara Grieninger (646) 654-4675, barbara.grieninger@nielsen.com MEDIA KIT www.incentivemag.com/mediakits ADVERTISING Associate Publisher Monique Agaliotis (646) 654-7638, monique.agaliotis@nielsen.com Midwest Marvel Jasnoch (507) 663-1480, marvel.jasnoch@nielsen.com Florida Arthur Hyman (561) 736-5374, arthur.hyman@nielsen.com West Coast and Hawaii Peter Edmunds (714) 963-3499, peter.edmunds@nielsen.com International/Caribbean Diane DiMaggio (646) 654-7332, diane.dimaggio@nielsen.com MARKETING Marketing Director Robert Kuwada (646) 654-5159, robert.kuwada@nielsen.com Vincent Alonzo Editor In Chief vince.alonzo@nielsen.com President: Greg Farrar • Senior Vice President, Human Resources: Michael Alicea • Senior Vice President, Finance: Sloane Googin • Senior Vice President, Marketing: Mark Hosbein • Senior Vice President, Media & Entertainment: Gerry Byrne • Senior Vice President, Brand Media & Corporate Development: Sabrina Crow • Senior Vice President, Retail: David Loechner • Senior Vice President, Building & Design: Joe Randall • Senior Vice President, Central Services: Mary Kay Sustek • Vice President, Licensing: Howard Appelbaum • Vice President, Manufacturing & Distribution: Jennifer Grego • Vice President, Audience Marketing: Joanne Wheatley 4| Incentive | May 2009 | incentivemag.com http://www.incentivemag.com http://www.incentivemag.com/mediakits http://www.incentivemag.com http://www.incentivemag.com

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of Incentive - May 2009

Incentive - May 2009
Contents
Editor’s Note
Headlines
Cover Story
Interview
Incentive House Roundtable
Incentive Strategies
Primer
Travel News
Up and Coming Destinations
Florida Beaches
Marvelous Mexico
Potentials
Apparel
Size and Style Matter in Luggage, Leather
Dining Gift Cards
Gift Cards Aid Archdiocese’s Wellness

Incentive - May 2009

https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/incentive_201004
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/incentive_201003
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/incentive_20100102
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/incentive_200912
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/incentive_200911
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/incentive_200910
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/incentive_200909
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/incentive_200908
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/incentive_200907
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/incentive_200906
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/incentive_200905
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/incentive_200904
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/incentive_200902
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/incentive_200901
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/incentive_200812
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/incentive_200811
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/incentive_200810
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/incentive_200809
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/incentive_200808
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/incentive_200807
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/incentive_200806
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/incentive_200805
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/incentive_200804
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/incentive_200803
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/incentive_200802
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/incentive_200801
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/incentive_200712
https://www.nxtbookmedia.com