IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 4

BOARD OF DIRECTORS 2019-2020
PRESIDENT
Susana Covarrubias, IIDA
Gensler

VICE PRESIDENTS
Ronnie Belizaire, IIDA
Daimler

P R E S I D E N T- E L E C T
Sascha Wagner, FIIDA, AIA
Huntsman Architectural
Group

Gabrielle Bullock, IIDA, FAIA,
NOMA
Perkins and Will

Jeff Fenwick, Industry IIDA
Tarkett North America

Erika Moody, IIDA
Helix Architecture + Design

James Kerrigan, IIDA
Jacobs

Jon Otis, IIDA
OIA-Object Agency

Angie Lee, IIDA, AIA
FXCollaborative
New York, NY

Doug Shapiro, Industry IIDA
OFS Brands

EXECUTIVE VICE
PRESIDENT / CEO
Cheryl S. Durst, Hon. FIIDA
IIDA

HEADQUARTERS STAFF
E X E C U T I V E S TA F F
Cheryl S. Durst,
Hon. FIIDA
Executive Vice
President and CEO
cdurst@iida.org
John Czarnecki,
Hon. IIDA, Assoc. AIA
Deputy Director and
Senior Vice President
jczarnecki@iida.org
Lisa Toth
Senior Vice President
Association Operations
ltoth@iida.org

A D M I N I S T R AT I V E
S TA F F
Jessica Leung
IT Manager
jleung@iida.org
Andrew Bisenius
Receptionist and
Administrative Support
abisenius@iida.org
A DVO C AC Y A N D
L E G I S L AT I V E
A F FA I R S
Emily Kelly
Director of Advocacy,
Public Policy, and
Legislative Affairs
ekelly@iida.org

E D U C AT I O N
Ely Alaniz
Director of Continuing
Education
ealaniz@iida.org

MARKETING,
C O M M U N I C AT I O N S ,
AND BRAND
Lauren Haras
Marketing
Communications Director
lharas@iida.org

MEMBER
SERVICES

SALES
Tracey Thomas
Director of
Strategic Sales
tthomas@iida.org

Karen Kiell
Senior Director of
Member Services
kkiell@iida.org

FINANCE
Lisa Taylor
Director of Finance
ltaylor@iida.org

Helen Pavlac
Senior Marketing
Manager
hpavlac@iida.org

Ryan Ben
Student Engagement
and Advancement
Manager
rben@iida.org

Karen Rolsing
Finance Manager
krolsing@iida.org

Fiore Barbini
Leaders Breakfast
Manager
fbarbini@iida.org

Patricia Fraley
Membership Processing
Manager
pfraley@iida.org

Melissa Cook
Communications
Coordinator
mcook@iida.org

Aisha Williams
Senior Director of
Industry Relations and
Special Events
awilliams@iida.org

Veronica Colburn
Staff Accountant
vcolburn@iida.org

Abigail Wilson
Advocacy and
Public Policy Manager
awilson@iida.org

Susan Fireside
Art Director
sfireside@iida.org
Danielle Nelson
Graphic Designer
dnelson@iida.org

Aimee Velkoski
Event and Conference
Sales Manager
avelkoski@iida.org

Clare Socker
Design Competitions
Manager
csocker@iida.org

Yasmin Spiro
Director of Content
and Strategy
yspirro@iida.org
Laura Botham
Digital Content Manager
lbotham@iida.org
Irena Frumkin
Copywriter and Editor
ifrumkin@iida.org

PERSPECTIVE TEAM
FOR IIDA

FOR IMAGINATION

PUBLISHER
Cheryl S. Durst, Hon. FIIDA
cdurst@iida.org

PUBLISHER
James Meyers
jmeyers@imaginepub.com

V P, C L I E N T ST R AT E GY
Jaime Painter
jpainter@imaginepub.com

SENIOR ART DIRECTOR
Melissa H. Miller
mmiller@imaginepub.com

EXECUTIVE VICE
PRESIDENT AND CHIEF
CONTENT OFFICER
Kim Caviness
kcaviness@imaginepub.com

EXECUTIVE EDITOR
Kelley Hunsberger
khunsberger@imaginepub.com

P R O J E C T M A N AG E R ,
PRINT PRODUCTION
Amy Fabbri
afabbri@imaginepub.com

EXECUTIVE VICE
P R E S I D E N T, D E S I G N
Douglas Kelly
dkelly@imaginepub.com
V P, E D I TO R I A L D I R E C TO R
Cyndee Miller
cmiller@imaginepub.com

FOR EMERALD EXPOSITIONS

EDITORS
Alexander Jacobs
ajacobs@imaginepub.com
Becky Maughan
bmaughan@imaginepub.com
Karina Corona
kcorona@imaginepub.com

Perspective is the journal
of IIDA, the International
Interior Design Association
© 2019
Price: $4.95

4

perspective

iida.org/perspective

PUBLISHER
Karen M. Donaghy
karen.donaghy@
emeraldexpo.com
P R O D U C T I O N M A N AG E R
Grace Casey
646-668-3706
grace.casey@
emeraldexpo.com
SALES
Donna Paglia
216-373-1210
Donna.Paglia@
emeraldexpo.com

IIDA HEADQUARTERS
111 East Wacker Drive
Suite 222
Chicago, IL 60601 USA
Phone: 888-799-IIDA
Fax: 312-467-0779
Email: perspective@iida.org
Web: www.iida.org

CONTENT
MARKETING
ASSOCIATION
AWARDS
Best Print Publication
- Design, 2017


http://www.iida.org http://www.iida.org/perspective

IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019

IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019
From IIDA
Contents
Next
Talk, Talk
Pre/Post
Education Revolution
A Planned Balance
Give & Take
The new Communal Living
Future Forces
Scratch Pad
Insider Intel
IIDA News + Updates
Why This Design Works
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - Cover2
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - From IIDA
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - Contents
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 3
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 4
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 5
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - Next
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 7
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 8
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 9
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - Talk, Talk
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 11
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - Pre/Post
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 13
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - Education Revolution
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 15
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 16
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 17
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 18
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 19
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - A Planned Balance
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 21
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 22
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 23
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 24
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 25
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 26
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 27
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - Give & Take
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 29
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 30
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 31
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 32
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 33
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 34
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 35
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - The new Communal Living
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 37
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 38
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 39
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 40
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 41
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 42
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 43
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - Future Forces
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 45
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 46
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 47
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 48
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 49
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - Scratch Pad
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 51
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - Insider Intel
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 53
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - IIDA News + Updates
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - 55
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - Why This Design Works
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - Cover3
IIDA – Perspective Fall/Winter 2019 - Cover4
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2019fallwinter
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2019summer
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2019spring
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2018fallwinter
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2018summer
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2018spring
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2017fallwinter
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2017springsummer
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2016fallwinter
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2016springsummer
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2015fallwinter
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2015springsummer
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2014fallwinter
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2014springsummer
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2013fallwinter
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2013springsummer
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2012fallwinter
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2012springsummer
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2011fallwinter
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2011springsummer
https://www.nxtbookmedia.com