IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 4

BOARD OF DIRECTORS 2019-2020
PRESIDENT
Gabrielle Bullock, IIDA,
FAIA, NOMA
Perkins+Will

VICE PRESIDENTS
Edwin Beltran, IIDA,
Assoc. AIA
NBBJ

P R E S I D E N T- E L E C T
Susana Covarrubias, IIDA
Gensler

Annie Chu, IIDA, FAIA
CHU+GOODING Architects

James Kerrigan, IIDA
Jacobs

Jon Otis, IIDA
Object Agency (OIA)

Angie Lee, IIDA, AIA
FXCollaborative

Doug Shapiro, Ind. IIDA
OFS

Marlene M. Liriano, FIIDA
IA Interior Architects

Sascha Wagner, FIIDA, AIA
Huntsman Architectural
Group

Jeff Fenwick, Ind. IIDA
Tarkett North America

EXECUTIVE VICE
PRESIDENT / CEO
Cheryl S. Durst, Hon. FIIDA
IIDA

HEADQUARTERS STAFF
E X E C U T I V E S TA F F
Cheryl S. Durst, Hon.
FIIDA
Executive Vice
President and CEO
cdurst@iida.org
John Czarnecki, Hon.
IIDA, Assoc. AIA
Deputy Director and
Senior Vice President
jczarnecki@iida.org

A D M I N I S T R AT I V E
S TA F F
Lisa Toth
Senior Director of
Association Operations
ltoth@iida.org

E D U C AT I O N

Heather Sibley
Executive Assistant
hsibley@iida.org

FINANCE
Lisa Taylor
Director of Finance
ltaylor@iida.org

Jessica Leung
IT Manager
jleung@iida.org
Andrew Bisenius
Receptionist and
Administrative Support
abisenius@iida.org

Ely Alaniz
Director of Continuing
Education
ealaniz@iida.org

Karen Rolsing
Finance Manager
krolsing@iida.org
Veronica Colburn
Staff Accountant
vcolburn@iida.org

A DVO C AC Y A N D
L E G I S L AT I V E
A F FA I R S
Emily Kelly
Director of Advocacy,
Public Policy, and
Legislative Affairs
ekelly@iida.org

MARKETING,
C O M M U N I C AT I O N S ,
AND BRAND
Lauren Haras
Marketing
Communications
Director
lharas@iida.org
Helen Pavlac
Senior Marketing
Manager
hpavlac@iida.org
Anastasia Gedman
Director of Outreach
and Engagement
agedman@iida.org
Irena Frumkin
Copywriter and Editor
ifrumkin@iida.org
Genevieve Ramos
Digital Content
Strategist
gramos@iida.org
Susan Fireside
Art Director
sfireside@iida.org

Abigail Rathbun
Advocacy and
Public Policy Manager
arathbun@iida.org

Danielle Nelson
Graphic Designer
dnelson@iida.org

MEMBER SERVICES

SALES

Karen Kiell
Senior Director of
Member Services
kkiell@iida.org

Tracey Thomas
Director of Strategic
Sales
tthomas@iida.org

Aisha Williams
Senior Director of
Industry Relations and
Special Events
awilliams@iida.org

Aimee Velkoski
Event and Conference
Sales Manager
avelkoski@iida.org

Ryan Ben
Student Engagement
and Advancement
Manager
rben@iida.org
Patricia Fraley
Membership Processing
Manager
pfraley@iida.org
Clare Socker
Design Competitions
Manager
csocker@iida.org
Chris Stewart
Program Manager
cstewart@iida.org

PERSPECTIVE TEAM
FOR IIDA

FOR IMAGINATION

PUBLISHER
Cheryl S. Durst, Hon. FIIDA
cdurst@iida.org

PUBLISHER
James Meyers
jmeyers@imaginepub.com

V P, C L I E N T ST R AT E GY
Jaime Painter
jpainter@imaginepub.com

SENIOR ART DIRECTOR
Melissa H. Miller
mmiller@imaginepub.com

EXECUTIVE VICE
PRESIDENT AND CHIEF
CONTENT OFFICER
Kim Caviness
kcaviness@imaginepub.com

EXECUTIVE EDITOR
Kelley Hunsberger
khunsberger@imaginepub.com

P R O J E C T M A N AG E R ,
PRINT PRODUCTION
Kristie Amella
kamella@imaginepub.com

EXECUTIVE VICE
P R E S I D E N T, D E S I G N
Douglas Kelly
dkelly@imaginepub.com
V P, E D I TO R I A L D I R E C TO R
Cyndee Miller
cmiller@imaginepub.com

FOR EMERALD EXPOSITIONS

EDITORS
Elizabeth Cotner
ecotner@imaginepub.com
Alexander Jacobs
ajacobs@imaginepub.com
Becky Maughan
bmaughan@imaginepub.com

PUBLISHER
Karen M. Donaghy
karen.donaghy@
emeraldexpo.com
P R O D U C T I O N M A N AG E R
Grace Casey
646-668-3706
grace.casey@
emeraldexpo.com
SALES
Donna Paglia
216-373-1210
Donna.Paglia@
emeraldexpo.com

Karina Corona
kcorona@imaginepub.com

Perspective is the journal
of IIDA, the International
Interior Design Association
© 2019
Price: $4.95

4

perspective

iida.org/perspective

IIDA HEADQUARTERS
111 East Wacker Drive
Suite 222
Chicago, IL 60601 USA
Phone: 888-799-IIDA
Fax: 312-467-0779
Email: perspective@iida.org
Web: www.iida.org

CONTENT
MARKETING
ASSOCIATION
AWARDS
Best Print Publication
- Design, 2017


http://www.iida.org http://www.iida.org/perspective

IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019

IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019
From IIDA
Contents
Next
Talk, Talk
Pre/Post
Powered by Design
From the Ashes
That Creative Spark
The Hybrid Hotel
Change of Seat
Scratch Pad
Insider Intel
IIDA News + Updates
Why This Design Works
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - Cover2
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - From IIDA
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 2
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - Contents
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 4
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 5
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - Next
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 7
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 8
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 9
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 10
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 11
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - Talk, Talk
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 13
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - Pre/Post
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 15
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - Powered by Design
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 17
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 18
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 19
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 20
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 21
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 22
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 23
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - From the Ashes
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 25
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 26
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 27
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 28
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 29
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 30
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 31
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - That Creative Spark
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 33
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 34
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 35
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 36
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 37
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - The Hybrid Hotel
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 39
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 40
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 41
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 42
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 43
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - Change of Seat
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 45
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 46
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 47
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 48
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 49
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - Scratch Pad
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 51
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - Insider Intel
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 53
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - IIDA News + Updates
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - 55
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - Why This Design Works
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - Cover3
IIDA Perspective - Summer 2019 - Cover4
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2019fallwinter
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2019summer
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2019spring
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2018fallwinter
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2018summer
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2018spring
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2017fallwinter
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2017springsummer
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2016fallwinter
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2016springsummer
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2015fallwinter
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2015springsummer
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2014fallwinter
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2014springsummer
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2013fallwinter
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2013springsummer
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2012fallwinter
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2012springsummer
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2011fallwinter
https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2011springsummer
https://www.nxtbookmedia.com